Alex Vann

Headshot of male student with glasses, facing camera with friendly expression

Undergrad: University of Redlands

Major: Business Management & Sociology

Hometown: Rancho Cucamonga, CA

Assistantship: Student Activities/Office of Fraternity and Sorority Life

Bio: Hi, hello! My name is Alex Vann, and as the child of two marines I've called plenty of locations "home," but have spent most of my life in good ol' Southern California. After moving from SoCal to Chicago during high school I made the decision to return to California to pursue my bachelor's degree at the University of Redlands (Los Angeles area). Throughout high school I never really understood the "appeal" in student involvement; why would I want to stay after school and work with a club or organization when I could go skateboarding and play video games?! This mindset changed once I attended T.R.A.I.N. (Training Radical and Involved New Students), my first student leadership retreat as first year college undergraduate. This retreat presented to me a campus community rooted in acceptance, support, and personal development and inspired me to involve myself in said community. In my following years as an undergraduate I picked up a variety of involvements on campus, ranging from residence life, to greek life, to alumni relations, to student leadership. Engaging with my campus community and the leaders in this community has taught me so much about myself and as a UConn HESA graduate student I hope assist the students whom I will serve in discovering their own passions, aspirations, and identities.

I graduated from Redlands in 2015 and am currently working as a Graphic Designer for an LED lighting manufacturer in the Los Angeles area. Design is one of my largest passions (one that actually developed through designing apparel and marketing materials for my fraternity) and I hope to integrate my love of the arts into my studies and work at UConn! In addition to making art, in my spare time I love to discover new music (punk, hardcore, hip-hop, etc.), skateboard, put in some time at the gym, try new restaurants, and collect tattoos; I'm currently at 8 and growing. I'm humbled by this opportunity and am excited to join the HESA Husky family!