Alyssa Clift

Undergrad: Texas A&M University

Major: Human Resource Development

Hometown: Highlands, TX

Assistantship: Student Activities – Student Union Board of Governors

Bio: I am originally from small town Highlands, Texas which is about 45 minutes outside of Houston. I have spent the last four years at Texas A&M University pursuing a Bachelor of Science in Human Resource Development with minors in Communication and Business Administration. I mostly stumbled into higher education because I spent more time in our Student Activities office than in a classroom. My undergrad involvement on campus spans across Extended Orientation, Student Government, and Traditions Programming. I also serve as the HESA Intern for the Career Center on campus where I advise the peer-education student organization based out of our department. Working with these students through the Career Center is really what pushed me to seek out more information about student affairs and eventually make it a career path. Having a hand in their development and experience in college has impacted me in such a profound way that I cannot imagine doing anything else. Outside of work and school, I like to find a variety of things to take up what free time I still have. I’ve been dancing and singing since I was a kid, and I love finding ways to integrate those interests into my life as often as possible. Finding new restaurants and quirky spots to hang out are some of my favorite things to do. The introvert in me is also all about a chill night in with Netflix (and that may happen a lot with this cold weather that I’m not used to – someone’s going to have to help me figure that out!). I’m excited to start this new adventure and experience something so different from where I live now.

During my time at Colorado State, I was a Resident Assistant for two years. This experience taught me the importance of building a support network while in college, and is another contributing factor to why I chose to pursue a career in Student Affairs. Beyond being an RA, I also served as a peer educator and was a part of Psi Chi National Honor Society. Being involved at my undergraduate institution played an instrumental role in my success as a college student, and I hope to inspire students at UConn to make the best of their college experience.

I am the youngest of two children and absolutely love spending my time with my family. I was born and raised in the Vail Valley in Colorado. As a true Coloradoan, I love hiking, boating, and camping. I also love going to museums! I am excited to move to Connecticut and explore the New England area. I am honored to be a part of the HESA program! Go Huskies!